Cyrillic Fonts

Linotype has a wide range of fonts that support Cyrillic texts. These currently include more than 500 typeface families; among these are popular standard fonts, such as Frutiger®, Univers®, Avenir® Next, and Palatino®, not to mention a wealth of new designs.
When Bulgaria joined the European Union in 2007, Cyrillic became one of the three official scripts of the EU, alongside Latin and Greek.
Cyrillic originally existed in a single, standardised version, but has undergone certain modifications over recent centuries in the various language areas that use it for writing purposes. Although the Cyrillic alphabet used by these different languages is largely identical, there are variations with regard to some of the characters. In contrast with the languages that use the Latin alphabet, where accents or glyphs are employed to indicate differences, the tendency in Cyrillic has been to introduce new letters.
Below are a few examples:

Language Countries Special characters
Balkar The Caucasus region Ёё Йй
Bulgarian Bulgaria Ѐѐ Ѝѝ Йй
Serbian Serbia Ћђ Јј ЉЊ љњ Џџ ІЇ ії
Ukranian Ukraine Ґґ Єє ІЇ ії

The Cyrillic fonts in older formats (Windows Codepage 1251 = older TrueType fonts) can be used to set texts in at least the following languages: Russian, Belarusian, Balkar, Bulgarian, Chechen, Macedonian, Moldovan, Ossetian, Serbian and Ukranian.
Many fonts have already been converted to the OpenType format and their character sets have also been extended. Examples that can be mentioned at this point are the OpenType Pro Cyrillic Fonts by Linotype and Monotype. In addition to an extensive array of characters from the Cyrillic alphabet, these also include a wide range of Latin characters, thus also covering practically the whole of Eastern Europe in which the Latin alphabet is used.

As a general rule, these Cyrillic Pro Fonts support texts in the following languages:
1.   Aghulian (Moldova)
2.   Avarian (Caucasus)
3.   Balkar (Caucasus)
4.   Belarusian (Belarus)
5.   Bulgarian (Bulgaria)
6.   Chechen (Chechnya)
7.   Erzya (Moldova)
8.   Gagauz (Gagauz-Yeri)
9.   Ingush (Ingushetia)
10.   Karachay (Karachay-Cherkessia)
11.   Komi (Republic of Komi)
12.   Komi-Permyak (Republic of Komi)
13.   Lezgian (South Dagestan)
14.   Macedonian (Macedonia, Greece, Albania)
15.   Moldovan (Republic of Moldova)
16.   Ossetian (Caucasus)
17.   Russian (Russia)
18.   Rutul (Dagestan, Azerbaijan)
19.   Serbian (Serbia)
20.   Ukrainian (Ukraine)

If you wish to set texts in particularly rare languages that use the Cyrillic alphabet, please see the Character Map or contact our Customer Support.

Support for texts that use the Cyrillic system is not only provided by language-specific extensions of font sets, but is also available in “concealed” form in many of the so-called Paneuropean W1G fonts and World Fonts (Helvetica® World, Arial® Unicode).

You can find all font families that include Cyrillic characters using our Font Search.

Related products