Font Designer – Hermann Zapf

German designer Hermann Zapf created the following fonts:
Aldus® (1954), Aldus Nova (2005), Aurelia™ (1983), Comenius® Antiqua BQ (1976), Edison™ (1978), Kompakt™ (1954), Marconi® (1976), Medici® Script (1971), Melior® (1952), Noris Script® (1976), Optima® (1958), Optima nova (2002), Orion™ (1974), Palatino™® (1950), Palatino nova (2005), Palatino™ Sans (2006), Saphir™ (1953), Sistina® (1950), Vario™ (1982), Venture™ (1969), Virtuosa® Classic (2009), Linotype Zapf Essentials™ (2002), Zapfino® (1998), Zapfino Extra (2003), ITC Zapf Chancery® (1979) ITC Zapf International® (1976), ITC Zapf Book® (1976), Zapf Renaissance Antiqua™ (1984–1987), ITC Zapf Dingbats® (1978).

Please take a look at the personal designer portrait of Hermann Zapf.

On 25th May 2010 Hermann Zapf has been awarded with the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany. Find some more details and photos here.
Hermann Zapf died on June 4th, 2015 at the age of 96 in Darmstadt. Please read our obituary here.
The Know How section offers detailed background knowledge to deal with all enquiries about the use of fonts.