Linotype Support - OpenType

OpenType Info

OpenType Character Sets – OpenType Com

At the moment there are five distinct categories of OpenType fonts: OpenType Std, OpenType Pro, OpenType Com, OpenType W1G (WGL4), and OpenType W2G.

All OpenType Com Fonts at

OpenType Com fonts have been optimized for international communication and for use with Microsoft Office applications. For these fonts an extended character set, the Linotype Extended European Character set (LEEC), has been defined.

With a minimum of 387 characters, this standard guarantees that 56 languages can be supported by every OpenType Com font:

Afrikaans, Albanian, Basque, Bosnian, Breton, Catalan, Cornish, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Faroese, Finnish, French, Frisian, Friulian, Gaelic (Irish, Scots), Gagauz (Latin), Galician, German, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Karelian, Ladin, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Moldavian (Latin), Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Rhaeto-Romanic, Romanian, Saami (Southern), Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Sorbian, Spanish, Swahili, Swedish, Turkish, Turkmen (Latin).

These fonts may also include characters for further languages and typeface specific typographical character variants.

more ... W1G Fonts  (WGL4)

Adobe OpenType user guide is available as pdf file. Please download:
pdf file english (997,4 kb)
Download PDF