OpenType Info

OpenType Character Sets – OpenType Std

At the moment there are five distinct categories of OpenType fonts: OpenType Std, OpenType Pro, OpenType Com, OpenType W1G (WGL4), and OpenType W2G.

All OpenType Standard Fonts at

Generally, text fonts in the OpenType Std category contain an extended Latin character set like the following:

This character set supports the following 21 languages:

Afrikaans, Basque, Breton, Catalan, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, Gaelic (Irish, Scots), German, Icelandic, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Norwegian, Portuguese, Saami (Southern), Spanish, Swahili, Swedish.

In individual cases, further non-Latin lan-guages and typographical character variants may be included in these fonts. In some cases headline or fun fonts may not support all the languages listed above.

more ... OpenType Pro

Adobe OpenType user guide is available as pdf file. Please download:
pdf file english (997,4 kb)
Download PDF