Jovica Veljovic

Jovica Veljovic

Interview mit Jovica Veljović

Wann haben Sie angefangen, sich mit Schriftdesign zu beschäftigen?
Bereits während des Studiums hatte ich mich schon sehr intensiv mit Schrift beschäftigt, daher wollte ich nach dem Studium bei Herb Lubalin in New York arbeiten. Aaron Burns, ein außerordentlicher Mensch, Visionär und Gründer der ITC, lud mich für eine Woche nach New York ein. Ed Benguiat fragte damals, welcher Arbeitstisch für mich frei gemacht werden sollte. Lubalin war schon schwer krank, und doch konnte ich ihn in seinem Haus besuchen. Das war für mich ein Geschenk. Drei Wochen später war er eingeschlafen. Aaron Burns sagte: „Du gehst nach Belgrad zurück und versuchst von dort aus, Schriften für ITC zu entwerfen“. Mit großen Augen sah ich zum ersten Mal in meinem Leben dicke Schriftmusterbücher in dessen Büro. In der ersten Maiwoche 1981 in New York wurde so mein Schicksal besiegelt, und mein weiterer Lebensweg wurde mir gezeigt. Seitdem beschäftige ich mich ununterbrochen mit Schriftgestaltung. Ich hatte das Glück, großartige Menschen kennenzulernen wie: Henri Friedlaender, der bekannte Typograf aus Israel und Designer der schönsten hebräischen Schrift Hadassah, Paul Standard, Autor und Kalligraf, den genialen Dr. Peter Karow, Gründer der URW, Aleksandar Dodig, Karlgeorg Hoefer, Werner Schneider, Gudrun und Hermann Zapf. Sein Buch „Über Alphabete“ hat mich sehr beeinflusst und eine entscheidende Rolle in meiner Entscheidung gespielt, mich mit Schrift und Kalligrafie zu beschäftigen. – Und eigentlich wollte ich Maler werden.

Wie viele Schriften haben Sie bis heute schon gestaltet?
Im Verhältnis zu der langen Zeit, die ich bereits in Schriftdesign investiere habe, sind nicht viele Schriften veröffentlicht. Einige für ITC, Adobe Systems und Linotype. Das liegt daran, dass ich sehr kritisch bin mit meiner Arbeit. Ich verwerfe mehr als ich behalte. Aber in meiner „Schublade“ warten noch einige und ich hoffe sie zu beenden.

… ich fühle mich allein am wohlsten‚ in der Welt der Buchstaben‚ im ständigen Kampf das zu erreichen‚ was ich fühle und denke …

Ist Schriftdesign Ihre Hauptbeschäftigung oder üben Sie noch andere Tätigkeiten aus?
In erster Linie bin ich Professor an der HAW Hamburg und unterrichte Schriftdesign und Typografie. Schriftdesign und Kalligrafie ist mein Lebensstil. Man ist allein, gern allein, im turbulenten Leben, das kein Außenstehender kennt. Ich fühle mich allein am wohlsten, in der Welt der Buchstaben‚ im ständigen Kampf das zu erreichen, was ich fühle und denke: – „Die ganze Welt, das ganze Leben – 26 Buchstaben.“

Was hat Sie zum Design der Agmena bewogen?
Ich wollte schon immer eine reine Buchschrift machen: Eine Schrift, die in Büchern und Publikationen so gut funktioniert, dass sich der Typograf auf seine Gestaltung konzentrieren kann, anstatt zum Beispiel das Kerning und die Zurichtung auszugleichen. Das ist für mich eine der wesentlichen Arbeiten des Schriftdesigners. Deshalb habe ich bei der Agmena Kerning und Zurichtung so gut wie möglich optimiert.

Was hat Sie beim Design der Agmena beeinflusst?
Ich weiss es nicht. Alles und Nichts. Als Buchliebhaber lese ich gerne, doch schlecht gesetzte Bücher irritieren mich. Besonders schöne Bücher mit hervorragender Typografie sind beispielsweise Bücher der Bremer Presse, Doves Press, Mardersteig und Beauclair Bücher. Ich wollte eine Schrift schaffen, mit der man solche Bücher gestalten kann. Sicher wirkt das überheblich, als Wunsch jedoch durchaus legitim.

Welche Techniken haben Sie zum Design der Agmena benutzt?
Anfangs stand ich unter dem Einfluss der Schreibschrift, mit der ich mir einen Grundstein legte. Später setzte ich Designmittel ein, wobei Funktionalität die höchste Priorität war, ohne zugleich den poetischen Touch zu verlieren.

Mein Ansinnen war es Buchstaben im Text zum perlen zu bringen‚ ohne aufdringlich zu sein‚ leise und doch souverän und charaktervoll …

Was war für Sie die größte Herausforderung während Sie an der Agmena arbeiteten?
Vieles muß berücksichtigt werden bei der Gestaltung einer Buchschrift. Nicht nur Proportion, Verhältnisse zwischen den Strichen oder die Farbe von Buchstaben mit Serifendicke, oder Verhältnisse der Mittelhöhe zu Ober- und Unterlänge, Abstände zwischen den Buchstaben und deren Wirkung mit Innenräumen und Punzen, und so weiter. Das schwierigste war, einen poetischen Rhythmus im Text als Ganzes zu erreichen, den ich in meinem Kopf hatte. Mein Ansinnen war es Buchstaben im Text zum perlen zu bringen‚ ohne aufdringlich zu sein‚ leise und doch souverän und charaktervoll.

Beschreiben Sie Anmutung und den Charakter der Agmena.
Poetisch, harmonisch, funktionell …

Agmena bietet auch viele Möglichkeiten in unterschiedlichen Sprachen zu arbeiten‚ da sich in der Schrift auch kyrillische und griechische Buchstaben befinden ...

Gibt es Besonderheiten der Agmena, welche herausgestellt werden sollten?
Schrift sollte funktionieren und zwar so gut funktionieren, daß man sagen kann: „Sie ist ein gutes Werkzeug für Texte in den Typopunktgrößen zwischen 9 und 14 Punkt “ und „ ich möchte zukünftig gerne mit dieser Schrift arbeiten.“ Dafür gab ich mein Bestes und hoffe, daß dies bei der Anwendung von Agmena klar wird. Die Agmena bietet auch viele Möglichkeiten in unterschiedlichen Sprachen zu arbeiten, da sich in der Schrift auch kyrillische und griechische Buchstaben befinden ... Viele Ligaturen, besonders für die griechische Sprache, aber auch Buchstaben für alternative Wortendungen oder Glyphen sind dabei; einige Ornamente und Schwungbuchstaben in den Kursivschnitten. Selbstverständlich sind auch Kapitälchen mit passenden Ziffern für alle denkbare Anwendungen integriert. Was mir besonders wichtig war, sind die Buchstaben mit besonderen Akzenten für Sprachen aus dem ehemaligen Jugoslawien, in Kyrillisch und Roman.

… Es ist nur zu hoffen‚ dass Agmena mit viel Feingefühl und Geschmack angewendet wird …

Für welche Art von Anwendung sehen Sie die Agmena am geeignetsten? (Text, Zeitungen, Display, Headlines, Poster, Bücher, Bildschirmdesign, Corporate Identity usw.)?
Die Schriftgestalter selbst haben am wenigsten Einfluss auf die Verwendung ihrer Schrift. Es ist nur zu hoffen‚ dass Agmena mit viel Feingefühl und Geschmack angewendet wird. Das ist mein Wunsch und zugleich das größte Rätsel, ob er sich erfüllen wird.

Welche besonderen und hervorragenden Merkmale besitzt die Agmena?
Das ist schwer zu sagen. Diese Schrift ist ein Teil von mir. Über mich zu sprechen ist nicht immer objektiv und klug. Ich wünsche mir, dass die Anwender dieser Schrift eines sagen können: Sie ist ein wunderschönes und vernünftiges Werkzeug für das Festhalten der Sprache.

Font Designer – Jovica Veljovic

Jovica Veljovic

Interview with Jovica Veljović

How did you fall in love with type design?
I spent a lot of my time on typography while still at college and when I graduated I decided I wanted to work for Herb Lubalin in New York. Aaron Burns, a real visionary, remarkable individual and one of the founders of ITC, invited me over to New York for a week. At the time, Ed Benguiat was more concerned with which workbench would be made available to me. Lubalin was already seriously ill, but I was able to visit him at home. I was really lucky. It was only three weeks later that he died. Aaron Burns then said to me “Why don’t you go back to Belgrade and try and design typefaces for ITC from there?” I was amazed at the thick sample typography catalogues I encountered in his office for the first time. So, my destiny was decided in that first week of May in New York back in 1981 and the future course of my life was set. I’ve been continuously working in the field of typography ever since. I’ve also been fortunate enough to have had the opportunity to get to know some extraordinary people, such as Henri Friedlaender, the leading Israeli typographer who designed that fantastic Hebrew typeface Hadassah, Paul Standard, author and calligrapher, the brilliant Dr. Peter Karow, who founded URW, Aleksandar Dodig, Karlgeorg Hoefer, Werner Schneider, Gudrun and Hermann Zapf. The latter’s book About Alphabets had a great influence on me and was one of the main reasons I chose to become a typographer and calligrapher – originally I wanted to be a painter.

How many typefaces have you developed until now?
Considering the relatively long period I’ve been working in the field, I haven’t really published that many. I’ve done a few for ITC, Adobe Systems and Linotype. I am the severest critic of my own work. I discard more than I actually decide to retain. But I still have a couple of projects in the “pipeline” and I hope that I’ll manage to bring them to completion.

… I am most comfortable on my own in the world of letters‚ constantly struggling to express what I feel and think …

Is type design what you are mainly doing? What is your profession aside from type design?
I work primarily as a lecturer and I teach type design and typography at Hamburg University of Applied Sciences. But I eat, sleep and breathe typography and calligraphy. It’s nice to be alone, quite alone among all that hustle and bustle of life of which we are often unaware. And I am most comfortable on my own in the world of letters, constantly struggling to express what I feel and think. The whole world and whole of life encompassed by 26 letters.

What inspired you to design Agmena?
I’ve always wanted to create a classic book typeface that would function so perfectly in the context of books and publications that typographers would be able to concentrate on their real task and not have to worry about what the font designer should already have taken care of. I thus concentrated on ensuring the font had the best possible kerning and spacing I could manage.

Were you influenced by other typefaces in the design of Agmena?
It’s difficult to say. Everything and nothing. I’m a bibliophile – I love reading and I get annoyed when books are not properly typeset. I’ve seen many stunning books with superb typography, such as those produced by the Bremer Presse, Doves Press, Mardersteig and Edition de Beauclair. My aim was to design a typeface with which it would be possible to create books like these. Perhaps I was being a touch arrogant, but I think it’s a perfectly legitimate aspiration.

What techniques did you use creating Agmena and what was the process for creating the design?
I started off under the influence of calligraphic scripts. That gave me a basis from which to work. In the next phase, I used design tools, with my first priority being to ensure that my font was appropriately functional while retaining its poetic essentials.

I tried to bring the letters to life when used for text‚ although I didn’t want them to be obtrusive‚ but to be subtle‚ majestic and full of character at one and the same time …

What was the greatest challenge you faced while creating Agmena?
There is a lot that has to be taken into account when you are designing a book font. These include proportion, the relative line ratios, the colour of letters with serif thickness, the relative lengths of x-height, ascenders and descenders, spaces between letters and the effects of their internal spaces and counters – and not just these. I found it most difficult to achieve the poetic rhythm that I had in my mind for the text as whole. I tried to bring the letters to life when used for text, although I didn’t want them to be obtrusive, but to be subtle, majestic and full of character at one and the same time.

Please describe the look and feel of Agmena.
Poetic, harmonious, functional …

There are many different options for using Agmena in terms of languages‚ as I’ve included Cyrillic and Greek letters ...

Is there anything particular about Agmena that you’d like to tell us?
I have designed my typeface to do its job and do its job so well that others find that it is perfect for setting text in the sizes 9-point to 14-point and want to continue to work with it in future. I’ve done everything I can to make sure this is the case. I hope that others will be aware of this when they use Agmena.
There are many different options for using Agmena in terms of languages, as I’ve included Cyrillic and Greek letters. There is a whole range of ligatures, particularly for setting Greek text, but there are also characters with extensions, alternative glyphs, some ornaments and swash letters in italic variants. I have, of course, also included small caps with matching numerals for all possible kinds of applications.
And there was something else I thought was important: I’ve provided letters with the appropriate special accents that can be used to set texts in the languages used in the former Yugoslavia, in Cyrillic and Roman.

… I can only hope that Agmena will be used appropriately‚ with sufficient aptitude and a feeling for its subtler aspects …

For what applications would you recommend Agmena (posters, text, newspapers, advertisements, etc.)?
Those who design a typeface have little influence on how their creation is subsequently used. I can only hope that Agmena will be used appropriately, with sufficient aptitude and a feeling for its subtler aspects. That at least is my wish, but I do not have the faintest idea whether this will actually happen.

What special and unique features characterise Agmena?
I find that difficult to answer. There is so much of myself in this typeface, and I can’t really be objective and sensible when talking about myself. My main hope is that those who use my typeface will be able to say one thing: Agmena is an outstanding and well-designed tool for transcribing language.
The Know How section offers detailed background knowledge to deal with all enquiries about the use of fonts.

Related products