Kimya Gandhi

Kimya Gandhi ist eine Schriftdesignerin aus Mumbai mit einer besonderen Leidenschaft für indisches Schrift-Design. Im Jahr 2010 absolvierte Kimya in der Abteilung Schrift-Design der Linotype GmbH ein Praktikum. Seitdem kooperiert sie freischaffend bei verschiedenen Multi-Skript-Projekten mit Linotype und Monotype.

Sie erlangte einen Bachelor in Kommunikationsdesign am National Institute of Fashion Technology in Mumbai (NIFT), wo sie bis heute auch regelmäßig als Gastdozentin tätig ist. Darüber hinaus spezialisierte sie sich mit einem Aufbaustudium am Industrial Design Centre (IDC) des IIT Bombay auf Visuelle Kommunikation.

Außerdem interessiert sich Kimya für Design und ethnografische Forschung. Sie ist eine genaue Beobachterin der asiatischen Design-Philosophie und hat zum Thema Typografie diverse Artikel für Fachliteratur und andere Publikationen geschrieben. Sie stöbert leidenschaftlich gern in unscheinbaren Buchläden, zeichnet und sammelt Briefpapier und verfolgt derzeit verschiedene Design- und Forschungsprojekte für indische Schriften.


Lesen Sie auch das Interview mit Kimya Gandhi.

Verwandte Produkte

Font Designer – Kimya Gandhi

Kimya Gandhi is a type designer from Mumbai with a passionate interest in Indic type design. Kimya interned with Linotype GmbH, Germany, in their font design department in 2010. Since then she has been working as a freelance designer on various projects with Linotype and Monotype catering to their multi-script requirements.

She holds a Bachelors degree in Communication Design from National Institute of Fashion Technology, Bombay (NIFT) where she now often teaches as a guest lecturer. She further went on to pursue specialization in the form of a post-graduate degree in Visual Communication at the Industrial Design Centre (IDC), IIT Bombay.

Kimya also shares a keen interest in the field of Design and Ethnographic Research. She is a keen observer of the Asian design philosophy and has penned articles for books and publications in the field of typography. Known to raid nondescript book shops, doodle and collect stationery, she is currently exploring several opportunities in designing Indian script typefaces and research.


Read also the interview with Kimya Gandhi.

The Know How section offers detailed background knowledge to deal with all enquiries about the use of fonts.

Related products

DIN Next™ Devanagari font family (Linotype Originals)
Neue Frutiger® Devanagari font family (Linotype Originals)